Gap note
AP2 gaps
AP2 is a gap note assembled on 2026-10-21. It quotes primary pages for settlement asset, spend controls, revocation, protocol composition, license, governance body, and cross-company use. A line that says not documented uses the day that page was read. The note does not rank the listing.
Last verified 2026-10-21
Sources
AP2 listing · Protocol compatibility · Spend controls · Gaps JSON
| Dimension | Status |
|---|---|
| Settlement asset | Mixed |
| Spend controls | Mixed |
| Revocation | Not documented |
| Protocol composition | Documented |
| License | Documented |
| Governance body | Documented |
| Cross-company use | Documented |
Settlement asset
Documented
Credit and debit cards in the initial version. The page calls these common pull payment methods.
AP2 protocol documentation · Read 2026-10-21
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-10-21. Stablecoin, Lightning, and bank are not named as current rails. The same page puts real time bank transfers and digital currencies on a roadmap.
AP2 protocol documentation · Read 2026-10-21
Spend controls
Documented
Per payment cap: Yes. Amount range sets a maximum the payment mandate amount must stay within.
AP2 payment mandate · Read 2026-10-20
Period budget: Partial. Budget is a total cap used with recurrence, not a budget that resets each period.
AP2 payment mandate · Read 2026-10-20
Payee or protocol allowlist: Yes. Allowed Payee limits the payee to a set of merchants. A category list is not stated.
AP2 payment mandate · Read 2026-10-20
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-10-20. Human approval above a threshold. A trusted surface renders the mandate to the user. A later approval threshold is not stated.
AP2 payment mandate · Read 2026-10-20
Revocation
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-10-20. Revocation. The payment mandate page does not define a revoke call. Expiry is a timestamp, not a revoke.
AP2 payment mandate · Read 2026-10-20
Protocol composition
Documented
The site says AP2 is an extension for A2A and for the Universal Commerce Protocol.
AP2 protocol documentation · Read 2026-10-21
The same page also calls AP2 an open extension for A2A and MCP.
AP2 protocol documentation · Read 2026-10-21
The site links a human not present sample that uses x402.
AP2 protocol documentation · Read 2026-10-21
The A2A x402 extension v0.2 spec describes an embedded flow that places x402 payment data inside an AP2 cart mandate and payment mandate.
A2A x402 payments extension v0.2 · Read 2026-10-21
License
Documented
Apache-2.0. The GitHub license API reported this SPDX identifier on 2026-10-21.
GitHub repository google-agentic-commerce/AP2 · Read 2026-10-21
Governance body
Documented
The site says standardization continues in the FIDO Alliance Agentic Authentication and Payments technical working groups. The public repository hosts the current specification.
AP2 protocol documentation · Read 2026-10-21
Cross-company use
Documented
The site says standardization continues in the FIDO Alliance Agentic Authentication and Payments technical working groups.
AP2 protocol documentation · Read 2026-10-21
Questions
- What does not documented mean?
- Not documented means the cited page does not state the fact. The line names that page and the day it was read. It is not a claim that the fact is false.
- What does omitted mean?
- Omitted means this note has no checked source for that dimension. The dimension was left out rather than filled in.
- Does the index rank these products?
- No. The table can be sorted by name, by dimension status, or by checked date. Sort order is not a score.
- Where is the machine readable file?
- GET /data/gaps.json. The file includes every note, the cited sources, and the read dates.