Gap note
IBM Agent Identity gaps
IBM Agent Identity gap note, checked 2026-10-28. It quotes primary pages on settlement, spend controls, revocation, composition, license, governance, cross-company use, and refunds. A not documented line uses the read date. The note does not rank the listing. Omitted means that dimension was not checked for this note.
Last verified 2026-10-28
Sources
IBM Agent Identity listing · Gaps JSON · See what changed this week
| Dimension | Status |
|---|---|
| Settlement asset | Not documented |
| Spend controls | Mixed |
| Revocation | Documented |
| Protocol composition | Mixed |
| License | Not documented |
| Governance body | Documented |
| Cross-company use | Mixed |
| Refunds and disputes | Not documented |
Settlement asset
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-10-28. The 26 October 2026 announcement describes an agent inventory, delegation, and tokens. It does not name a settlement asset.
IBM Agent Identity is now generally available: Building trust for the agentic era · Read 2026-10-28
Spend controls
Documented
The 26 October 2026 announcement says IBM Agent Identity uses OAuth-based, short-lived, task-scoped tokens, and that organizations can give an agent the access required for an approved task rather than broad, standing access.
IBM Agent Identity is now generally available: Building trust for the agentic era · Read 2026-10-28
The 27 October 2026 press release says Vault 2.2 is generally available. It gives agents their own secured accounts, automatically renews their credentials, and incorporates post-quantum encryption.
IBM Introduces Identity and Control for AI Agents, Securing Frontier Intelligence for the Enterprise · Read 2026-10-28
The 27 October 2026 press release says teams can monitor agents in production, and that built-in cost tracking shows each agent's model and token use.
IBM Introduces Identity and Control for AI Agents, Securing Frontier Intelligence for the Enterprise · Read 2026-10-28
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-10-28. Per payment cap or spending budget. The 26 October 2026 announcement describes task-scoped tokens and access for an approved task. It does not state a payment amount cap or a budget.
IBM Agent Identity is now generally available: Building trust for the agentic era · Read 2026-10-28
Revocation
Documented
The 27 October 2026 press release says that if an agent attempts to retrieve information or perform actions outside its approved permissions, the access can be denied and the session revoked in real time. It says dynamically generated credentials expire or can be revoked.
IBM Introduces Identity and Control for AI Agents, Securing Frontier Intelligence for the Enterprise · Read 2026-10-28
The 27 October 2026 press release says watsonx Orchestrate Contain is in tech preview and includes a kill switch to shut down any agent.
IBM Introduces Identity and Control for AI Agents, Securing Frontier Intelligence for the Enterprise · Read 2026-10-28
Protocol composition
Documented
The 26 October 2026 announcement says IBM Agent Identity preserves on-behalf-of delegation across identity providers and token exchanges, using OAuth-based tokens. IBM Verify provides token exchange.
IBM Agent Identity is now generally available: Building trust for the agentic era · Read 2026-10-28
The 27 October 2026 press release says Discover, in tech preview, extends to MCP servers, and that Evaluate can test agents, models, and MCP servers. The availability section lists Evaluate as generally available.
IBM Introduces Identity and Control for AI Agents, Securing Frontier Intelligence for the Enterprise · Read 2026-10-28
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-10-28. The 26 October 2026 announcement does not say IBM Agent Identity implements x402, AP2, MPP, A2A, or W3C Verifiable Credentials. It describes OAuth-based token exchange.
IBM Agent Identity is now generally available: Building trust for the agentic era · Read 2026-10-28
License
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-10-28. The 26 October 2026 announcement does not name a software license. The listing has no public repository.
IBM Agent Identity is now generally available: Building trust for the agentic era · Read 2026-10-28
Governance body
Documented
IBM publishes Agent Identity. The announcement page is dated 26 October 2026.
IBM Agent Identity is now generally available: Building trust for the agentic era · Read 2026-10-28
Cross-company use
Documented
The 27 October 2026 press release says Agent Identity and HashiCorp Vault integrate with NVIDIA OpenShell. It says Discover, in tech preview, connects to Amazon Bedrock, Microsoft Foundry, and Google Gemini.
IBM Introduces Identity and Control for AI Agents, Securing Frontier Intelligence for the Enterprise · Read 2026-10-28
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-10-28. A portable attestation that a third party outside the IBM deployment can verify. The 27 October 2026 press release describes integration with NVIDIA OpenShell and Discover connections to Amazon Bedrock, Microsoft Foundry, and Google Gemini. It does not describe that attestation.
IBM Introduces Identity and Control for AI Agents, Securing Frontier Intelligence for the Enterprise · Read 2026-10-28
Refunds and disputes
Who handles a refund when an agent pays
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-10-28. The 26 October 2026 announcement describes identity, tokens, and audit trails. It does not describe a refund or a dispute.
IBM Agent Identity is now generally available: Building trust for the agentic era · Read 2026-10-28
Questions
- What does not documented mean?
- Not documented means the cited page does not state the fact. The line names that page and the day it was read. It is not a claim that the fact is false.
- What does omitted mean?
- Omitted means this note has no checked source for that dimension. The dimension was left out rather than filled in.
- Does the index rank these products?
- No. The table can be sorted by name, by dimension status, or by checked date. Sort order is not a score.
- Where is the machine readable file?
- GET /data/gaps.json. The file includes every note, the cited sources, and the read dates.