Gap note
Cloudflare Monetization Gateway gaps
Cloudflare Monetization Gateway gap note, checked 2026-11-04. It quotes primary pages on settlement, spend controls, revocation, composition, license, governance, cross-company use, and refunds. A not documented line uses the read date. The note does not rank the listing. Omitted means that dimension was not checked for this note.
Last verified 2026-11-04
Sources
Cloudflare Monetization Gateway listing · Protocol compatibility · Gaps JSON · See what changed this week
| Dimension | Status |
|---|---|
| Settlement asset | Mixed |
| Spend controls | Mixed |
| Revocation | Not documented |
| Protocol composition | Documented |
| License | Not documented |
| Governance body | Documented |
| Cross-company use | Documented |
| Refunds and disputes | Not documented |
Settlement asset
Documented
The 30 September 2026 blog says verification and settlement run through Coinbase's x402 Facilitator and that payments settle on Base using USDC.
Cloudflare blog, Monetization Gateway beta, 2026-09-30 · Read 2026-11-04
The rules page says the minimum settlement is $0.001 and the maximum price is $100 per request.
Monetization rules · Read 2026-11-04
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-11-04. A Cloudflare fee for the gateway. The 30 September 2026 blog describes USDC settlement on Base and does not state a Cloudflare fee.
Cloudflare blog, Monetization Gateway beta, 2026-09-30 · Read 2026-11-04
Not documented as of 2026-11-04. Payment rails other than USDC on Base. The 30 September 2026 blog says additional payment rails are planned.
Cloudflare blog, Monetization Gateway beta, 2026-09-30 · Read 2026-11-04
Spend controls
Documented
The rules page says a seller writes rules that charge matching requests. The audience is Everyone or Verified Bots through BotBase. A rule can match URL, headers, query string, user agent, IP, country, cookie, and more.
Monetization rules · Read 2026-11-04
The validation page says fixed pricing uses exact and variable pricing uses upto. The origin sets PAYMENT-SETTLEMENT for a successful upto response. If that amount exceeds the authorized maximum, the gateway settles the authorized maximum instead.
Payment validation · Read 2026-11-04
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-11-04. Buyer side spend limits. The rules page describes seller monetization rules and does not describe a buyer cap.
Monetization rules · Read 2026-11-04
Not documented as of 2026-11-04. Transaction logs for all payments. The 30 September 2026 blog says exposing logs for all transactions is planned.
Cloudflare blog, Monetization Gateway beta, 2026-09-30 · Read 2026-11-04
Revocation
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-11-04. Revocation of a signed payment after it is sent. The payment validation page shows an exp claim in a decoded JWT example and does not describe revocation.
Payment validation · Read 2026-11-04
Protocol composition
Documented
The x402 page says Monetization Gateway uses x402 version 2 headers PAYMENT-REQUIRED and PAYMENT-SIGNATURE. Fixed pricing uses exact. Variable pricing uses upto.
Monetization Gateway x402 protocol · Read 2026-11-04
The validation page says the gateway forwards a verified request with a PAYMENT-CONTEXT JWT, and that the origin must require an Ed25519 signature.
Payment validation · Read 2026-11-04
The 30 September 2026 blog says AI Gateway uses Monetization Gateway for origin controlled pricing, with the gateway requesting the price from AI Gateway.
Cloudflare blog, Monetization Gateway beta, 2026-09-30 · Read 2026-11-04
The AI Gateway machine payments page says clients pay for inference on POST /ai/run for select models by sending a Payment-Method: x402 header.
Cloudflare AI Gateway machine payments · Read 2026-11-04
License
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-11-04. A software license. The gateway page does not name one.
Monetization Gateway · Read 2026-11-04
Governance body
Documented
The gateway page says Monetization Gateway is in closed beta and that access is requested in the Cloudflare Dashboard.
Monetization Gateway · Read 2026-11-04
The 30 September 2026 blog says the gateway became available that day as a closed beta.
Cloudflare blog, Monetization Gateway beta, 2026-09-30 · Read 2026-11-04
The eligibility page says buyers and sellers must be based in the United States. A seller needs a credit card on file, a verified account email, an account older than 60 days, and a proxied zone older than 30 days.
Eligibility · Read 2026-11-04
Cross-company use
Documented
The 30 September 2026 blog names Ceramic.ai, Stocktwits, and API2PDF as customer use cases in production.
Cloudflare blog, Monetization Gateway beta, 2026-09-30 · Read 2026-11-04
The gateway page says the gateway settles the payment through the Coinbase x402 Facilitator.
Monetization Gateway · Read 2026-11-04
Refunds and disputes
Who handles a refund when an agent pays
Not documented
Not documented as of 2026-11-04. A refund or dispute process. The gateway page does not describe one.
Monetization Gateway · Read 2026-11-04
Questions
- What does not documented mean?
- Not documented means the cited page does not state the fact. The line names that page and the day it was read. It is not a claim that the fact is false.
- What does omitted mean?
- Omitted means this note has no checked source for that dimension. The dimension was left out rather than filled in.
- Does the index rank these products?
- No. The table can be sorted by name, by dimension status, or by checked date. Sort order is not a score.
- Where is the machine readable file?
- GET /data/gaps.json. The file includes every note, the cited sources, and the read dates.