Skip to content
The Agent Economy

Infrastructure directory

Gap note

Machine Payments Protocol gaps

Machine Payments Protocol is a gap note assembled on 2026-10-21. It quotes primary pages for settlement asset, spend controls, revocation, protocol composition, license, governance body, and cross-company use. A line that says not documented uses the day that page was read. The note does not rank the listing.

Last verified 2026-10-21

Sources

Machine Payments Protocol listing · Protocol compatibility · Spend controls · Gaps JSON

Dimension status for Machine Payments Protocol
DimensionStatus
Settlement assetDocumented
Spend controlsMixed
RevocationDocumented
Protocol compositionDocumented
LicenseDocumented
Governance bodyDocumented
Cross-company useDocumented

Settlement asset

Documented

  • The MPP documentation index describes stablecoin, card, and Lightning Bitcoin payment methods.

    MPP protocol site · Read 2026-10-21

  • Stripe's documentation describes authorization with a card or a stablecoin.

    Stripe documentation for MPP · Read 2026-10-16

Spend controls

Documented

  • Period budget: Yes. The Tempo access key example can spend up to 10 OUSD per day.

    Managing agent spend · Read 2026-10-20

  • Payee or protocol allowlist: Yes. That example limits an OUSD transfer to one recipient address.

    Managing agent spend · Read 2026-10-20

Not documented

  • Not documented as of 2026-10-20. Per payment cap. The spend guide example is a daily token limit on a Tempo access key, not a per payment cap.

    Managing agent spend · Read 2026-10-20

  • Not documented as of 2026-10-20. Human approval above a threshold. The guide shows a wallet authorizing the key up front. It does not state later approval above a threshold.

    Managing agent spend · Read 2026-10-20

Revocation

Documented

  • Revocation: Yes. The guide says each key can have its own revocation path.

    Managing agent spend · Read 2026-10-20

Protocol composition

Documented

  • The MPP documentation index includes a guide for using MPP with x402.

    MPP protocol site · Read 2026-10-21

  • The same index describes an MCP and JSON-RPC transport for MPP challenges.

    MPP protocol site · Read 2026-10-21

License

Documented

Governance body

Documented

Cross-company use

Documented

Questions

What does not documented mean?
Not documented means the cited page does not state the fact. The line names that page and the day it was read. It is not a claim that the fact is false.
What does omitted mean?
Omitted means this note has no checked source for that dimension. The dimension was left out rather than filled in.
Does the index rank these products?
No. The table can be sorted by name, by dimension status, or by checked date. Sort order is not a score.
Where is the machine readable file?
GET /data/gaps.json. The file includes every note, the cited sources, and the read dates.