Skip to content
The Agent Economy

Infrastructure directory

Gap note

Shop MCP gaps

Shop MCP gap note, checked 2026-10-29. It quotes primary pages on settlement, spend controls, revocation, composition, license, governance, cross-company use, and refunds. A not documented line uses the read date. The note does not rank the listing. Omitted means that dimension was not checked for this note.

Last verified 2026-10-29

Sources

Shop MCP listing · Protocol compatibility · Spend controls · Gaps JSON · See what changed this week

Dimension status for Shop MCP
DimensionStatus
Settlement assetDocumented
Spend controlsMixed
RevocationMixed
Protocol compositionDocumented
LicenseMixed
Governance bodyDocumented
Cross-company useDocumented
Refunds and disputesDocumented

Settlement asset

Documented

  • Card. For each payment the buyer approves, Shop Pay issues a single use payment credential. The agent can complete the purchase in the merchant's card checkout.

    shop.dev · Read 2026-10-29

  • Card. For a store off Shopify, an approved spend request returns card details for that purchase, paid by the buyer's saved card.

    Approve a purchase outside Shopify · Read 2026-10-29

Spend controls

Documented

Not documented

  • Not documented as of 2026-10-29. A payee or merchant allowlist for the budget setting. The help page describes a weekly, monthly, or total budget and does not state a payee or merchant allowlist.

    Using Shop with AI agents and agentic platforms · Read 2026-10-29

Revocation

Documented

Not documented

  • Not documented as of 2026-10-29. A way to revoke a one time card already issued for a spend request. The approvals page says cancel_spend_request does not revoke a card that was already issued.

    Approve a purchase outside Shopify · Read 2026-10-29

Protocol composition

Documented

  • shop.dev says the API speaks UCP through MCP.

    shop.dev · Read 2026-10-29

  • The Fall 26 Edition says WebMCP tools on Liquid and Hydrogen storefronts and checkout let a browser agent search products, update the cart, and complete checkout once the buyer approves.

    Shopify Fall 26 Edition for developers · Read 2026-10-29

  • shop.dev says a Link wallet integration can set LINK_API_BASE_URL and LINK_AUTH_BASE_URL to https://mcp.shop.com/api/link.

    shop.dev · Read 2026-10-29

License

Documented

  • MIT. The GitHub license API reported this SPDX identifier for the shop CLI repository on 2026-10-29.

    shop CLI repository · Read 2026-10-29

Not documented

  • Not documented as of 2026-10-29. A license for the hosted Shop MCP service. shop.dev does not name one. The MIT license applies to the shop CLI repository.

    shop.dev · Read 2026-10-29

Governance body

Documented

Cross-company use

Documented

Refunds and disputes

Who handles a refund when an agent pays

Documented

Questions

What does not documented mean?
Not documented means the cited page does not state the fact. The line names that page and the day it was read. It is not a claim that the fact is false.
What does omitted mean?
Omitted means this note has no checked source for that dimension. The dimension was left out rather than filled in.
Does the index rank these products?
No. The table can be sorted by name, by dimension status, or by checked date. Sort order is not a score.
Where is the machine readable file?
GET /data/gaps.json. The file includes every note, the cited sources, and the read dates.