| Who governs it | | | | |
|---|
| Layer | HTTP 402. The x402.org page says a request without payment receives HTTP 402, and the client pays and retries. x402 siteAs of 2026-10-22 The Coinbase how it works page says this is for per request payments without a checkout page, a subscription, or a separate billing integration. Coinbase documentation for how x402 worksAs of 2026-10-22
| HTTP 402. The FAQ says MPP and x402 both use HTTP 402 to signal that a request requires payment. MPP FAQAs of 2026-10-22 Stripe's documentation says the server returns HTTP 402, the agent authorizes the payment, retries the request, and receives a receipt. Stripe documentation for MPPAs of 2026-10-22 The session intent page says a session pays for many requests, streamed chunks, or metered units without a separate settlement for each one. It says to use the subscription intent when access renews at a fixed amount. MPP session intentAs of 2026-10-22
| | Checkout. A checkout mandate captures the cart negotiated between an agent and a merchant. A payment mandate authorizes payment against a payment instrument. AP2 protocol documentationAs of 2026-10-22 The site says AP2 is an extension for A2A and for the Universal Commerce Protocol, and also an open extension for A2A and MCP. AP2 protocol documentationAs of 2026-10-22
|
|---|
| Settlement rail | The x402.org FAQ says stablecoin payments are the primary use case, and that the protocol is extensible to traditional payment methods. x402 siteAs of 2026-10-22 The same FAQ says x402 supports EVM compatible chains, Solana, and more. x402 siteAs of 2026-10-22 The Linux Foundation announcement says payment types range from traditional cards to stablecoins. Linux Foundation announcement of the x402 Foundation, 14 July 2026As of 2026-10-22
| The FAQ says Tempo stablecoin payments, card payments through Card or Stripe, and Lightning payments are in production. MPP FAQAs of 2026-10-22 The same FAQ says the protocol works with any payment rail, and that anyone can build a custom payment method. MPP FAQAs of 2026-10-22 Stripe's documentation describes authorization with a card or a stablecoin. Stripe documentation for MPPAs of 2026-10-22
| The delegate payment reference describes a card payment method and an allowance with a currency code. ACP delegate paymentAs of 2026-10-22 Not documented as of 2026-10-22. Stripe's ACP page describes delegated payment tokens and does not name one settlement rail such as a stablecoin, a card network, or fiat. Stripe documentation for the Agentic Commerce ProtocolAs of 2026-10-22
| Credit and debit cards in the initial version. The page calls these common pull payment methods. AP2 protocol documentationAs of 2026-10-22 Not documented as of 2026-10-22. Stablecoin and Lightning are not named as current rails. The same page puts real time bank transfers and digital currencies on a roadmap. AP2 protocol documentationAs of 2026-10-22
|
|---|
| Who pays fees | The x402.org page says zero protocol fees, and that nominal payment network fees still apply. It says the flow is free for the customer and the merchant aside from those network fees. x402 siteAs of 2026-10-22 Not documented as of 2026-10-22. The same page does not say which party pays the nominal payment network fee. x402 siteAs of 2026-10-22
| Stripe's MPP documentation says Stripe can cover the customer's Tempo network fees when hostedFeePayer is enabled. Stripe documentation for MPPAs of 2026-10-22 Not documented as of 2026-10-22. The FAQ says pricing is set per service and describes near zero per request fees for sessions. It does not name one party that pays network fees on every rail. MPP FAQAs of 2026-10-22
| | |
|---|
| Spend controls and mandates | | The managing agent spend guide says Tempo access keys can set a token spending limit, a recipient restriction, an expiration, and a revocation path. Its example key can spend up to 10 OUSD per day and can transfer OUSD only to one recipient. Managing agent spendAs of 2026-10-22
| Per payment cap. max_amount is the maximum charge for that one time allowance. ACP delegate paymentAs of 2026-10-22 merchant_id names the one merchant that may use the token. ACP delegate paymentAs of 2026-10-22 Not documented as of 2026-10-22. Period budget. The allowance reason is one_time and the allowance has an expiry. A period budget is not stated. ACP delegate paymentAs of 2026-10-22 Not documented as of 2026-10-22. Human approval above a threshold. A risk signal can ask for manual review. A spend approval threshold is not stated. expires_at ends the allowance. The page does not state a revoke call. ACP delegate paymentAs of 2026-10-22
| Amount range constrains the payment mandate amount. Budget is a total cap used with agent recurrence. Allowed payee limits the payee to a set of merchants. AP2 payment mandateAs of 2026-10-22 Agent recurrence sets a frequency and an optional maximum number of occurrences so the mandate can be reused. AP2 payment mandateAs of 2026-10-22 Not documented as of 2026-10-22. Revocation. The payment mandate page defines an expiration timestamp. It does not define a revoke call. AP2 payment mandateAs of 2026-10-22
|
|---|
| Identity and authorization | The Coinbase how it works page says the client signs a payment and sends the request again with proof of payment. Coinbase documentation for how x402 worksAs of 2026-10-22 The x402.org page says no accounts or personal information are needed. x402 siteAs of 2026-10-22 Not documented as of 2026-10-22. Those pages do not name a separate agent identity credential. x402 siteAs of 2026-10-22
| | | |
|---|
| Open spec and license | | Apache-2.0 for the tempoxyz/mpp repository. The GitHub license API reported this SPDX identifier on 2026-10-22. GitHub repository tempoxyz/mppAs of 2026-10-22 The governance page says the IETF submission is under IETF Trust licensing, BCP 78 and BCP 79, and that code components in that document use the Revised BSD License. MPP governanceAs of 2026-10-22
| | |
|---|
| Status | | Live. The FAQ says Tempo stablecoin payments, card payments, and Lightning payments are in production. MPP FAQAs of 2026-10-22 Not documented as of 2026-10-22. The FAQ and the governance page do not state a launch date. MPP governanceAs of 2026-10-22
| | The site lists an announcement dated 9/16/2025. It says the public repository hosts the current specification while FIDO continues the standards work. AP2 protocol documentationAs of 2026-10-22 The v0.2.0 release, published on 2026-04-28, says it focuses on human not present flows. AP2 v0.2.0 release on GitHubAs of 2026-10-22
|
|---|
| Listed products | | Nevermined. The facilitator page says Nevermined verifies and settles both x402 and MPP payments against the same payment plans. Listing Nevermined payments facilitatorAs of 2026-10-22 Stripe link-cli. The README says a Shared Payment Token is for sellers that accept programmatic payments through MPP. Listing stripe/link-cli READMEAs of 2026-10-22 Tempo Wallet. The pay with the CLI page says the CLI handles the MPP challenge and payment retry, and that a max spend flag caps spending for the command. Listing Tempo guide to paying with the CLIAs of 2026-10-22
| | Not documented as of 2026-10-22. The AP2 site links its own samples, including a human not present sample that uses x402. It does not name another listing in this directory as an implementer. AP2 protocol documentationAs of 2026-10-22
|
|---|